Students who have had the High School Completion Certificate and passed the Matriculation Examination and who apply for admission to University of Yangon are selected by the University on the basis of aggregate marks and on principles laid down by the University Council.

Requirements for the First Degree

          Specialization begins from the First Year of the studies. Duration for the first degree is four years. There are two semesters in each academic year (December-March and June-September) examinations are held at the end of each semester. A student is expected to complete a specific class at most within two consecutive academic years. Otherwise, he or she will be permitted to repeat the same examination once more as an external student only in the following academic year. Fourth year students are required to sit for both written and viva voce examinations. In addition, they will be required to sit for both written and viva voce examinations. In addition, they will be required to submit a term-paper. Students are required to obtain a minimum of Grade Point 3 in each subject. The grading system of undergraduate degree courses and Honours degree courses is as follows. The duration of degree programme is as follows:

  • First degree 4 years
  • Honours degree 5 years
  • Masters degree 2 years

Requirements for Honours Degrees

          Students who have passed the second year examination with Grade Points 5 in two core subjects and total have a Grade Point Average (GPA) over two semesters of 4.0 and above are eligible to apply for registration for a Honours classes. Duration of the Honours degree course is 3 years. If the two years for the first year and second year are taken into consideration, the total period of study will be five years. Honours students are permitted to appear for the examination only once. Honours examination consists of both written and viva voce examination. The candidate is able to submit a dissertation. In the written examination, the student must have Grade Point 4 or above in each subject. The students who cannot fulfill the requirements of the written examination and dissertation will obtain only an ordinary degree without honours. Degrees are awarded in the following five classes:

  • First Class Honours
  • Second Class Honours (First Division)
  • Second Class Honours (Second Division)
  • Third Class Honours
  • BA/BSc (Ordinary degree)

          Students who are not eligible to join the Honours stream after passing the second year examination have the chance to try again to proceed to master qualifying classes if they obtain CGPA 4.0 and above for two semesters combined in the final year courses of the ordinary degree.

Requirements for Masters Degrees

          The candidates who are eligible to apply for registration for Master degree programmes:

Master Degree Programme

                   A graduate of the University who has passed the Honours examination or the Master qualifying examination with Grade Point 4 in each subject is eligible to join the Master degree porgramme. A student must follow an approved course of study for a period of not less than one year from the date of registration. The Master’s examination shall consist of both written and viva voce. In addition, the candidate is required to submit a thesis. The thesis must be submitted within three years from the date of registration. If the candidate fails to submit the thesis within the given time, the written examination which he or she has taken will be treated as void.