The Department of Geology has been established in Hinthada University since 2001.  It confers Bachelor of Science, Bachelor of Science (Honours) and Master of Science degrees in geology specialization now.  The undergraduate students are increasingly registered and the total 334 students are studying now.  The vision of the Department of Geology is to fulfill the future requirements of the human resources in the region and to promote the quality and diversity in higher education and qualified human resources.


The department of Geology attempts its goal to be an energetic, rightful and sustainable sector committed to education and

research excellence in the society of Geosciences



(1) To provide the essential components of strategy in order to improve in teaching and research development by international standards

(2) To achieve elevated standards and recognition from academic communities all over the world

(3) To enhance the knowledge base of sustainable reforms in Earth Science

(4)To integrate the essential components of strategy in order to improve teaching, research, technology and innovation

(5) To promote interactive collaborations with stakeholders and industries





        – 1st Year, 2nd Year,  3rd Year& First Year Hons:, 4th Year  and Second year Hons:, Third Year Hons:, 

          MSc (Regional Geology, Mineralogy and Petrology Specialization) 

        – (Soft File in CD Drive)

Associate Professor3
Assistant Lecturer1


(1) Regional Geology: Tectonics, Stratigraphy of selected regions, Structural Geology, Earthquake Geology
(2) Petrology : Igneous Petrology, Metamorphic Petrology, Sedimentary Petrology, Petrochemistry and Petrogenesis
(3) Economic and Mining Geology: Metal Mining (Ore Deposits), Resource Geology (Raw Materials), Mineral Exploration (GC and GP)
(4) Mineralogy and Gemology: Petrographic Mineralogy,Origin of Gemstone Deposits, Mineralogy and Gemology of Gem Mine Areas
(5) Hydrogeology: Water Quality Analysis
(6) Engineering Geology: Foundation Analysis
(7) Environmental Geology
Dr- May Thwe Aye Professor (Head of Department)
View Profile:

Dr-Khin Khine Thet Lwin Professor
View Profile:

Daw Kyi Kyi Thwin Associate Lecturer
View Profile:

U Tun Tun Min Associate Lecturer
View Profile:

Daw Shelly Nyein Associate Lecturer
View Profile:

Daw Sandi Aye Demonstrator
View Profile:

U Nay Lin Naing Demonstrator
View Profile:

Daw Mar Mar Swe Lecturer
View Profile:

Daw Si Si Win Lecturer
(1) Tasmania University (Australia)
(2) Kyushu University (Japan)
(3) Technische Hochschule Georg Agricola (THGA) (Germany)
(4) Nittetsu Mining Co.Ltd (Japan)
(5) EOS (Singapore)
(6) Singapore Polytechnic (Singapore)
(7) Cambodia
(8) Laos
(9) Thailand
(10) University Saint Malaysia(Malaysia)
(11) Vietnam (CLMTV Cross Border Collaboration on Geology and Mineral Resources
(12) DMR( Department of Mineral Resources, Thailand)
(13) University of Gadjah Mada (Indonesia)
(14) Desales University (Philippine)
-Economic Geology, Regional Geology (Tectonics, Earthquake), Petrology, Mineralogy, Engineering Geology, Hydrogeology, Environmental Geology
  • Mobile Phone        -              +95-9443006292
  • E-mail                    -              maythweaye@gmail.com